terewster.blogg.se

Tumblr digital painting brushes
Tumblr digital painting brushes










I’ll continue to do this as I keep adding color. I’m replacing the lines with shading and value. Such that I can turn off the sketch layer and see this: What I do in general at this point is go over the shapes and lines of the sketch. I can then select colors within there that are a mix of the two.įor instance, I’ll select the color of the lines here:Īnd maybe I’ll select one of the darker shades around his eye, but not the darkest, to make the shading a smoother gradient…and so on. This is why I start with really blendy, low-opacity brushes when throwing down color on top of the background. Something I find v useful is to keep selecting colors that already exist in your image for shading and hue adjustment. that I’m kinda skipping over because it takes a lot of time to explain…but there are hundreds of tutorials out there on those topics so please, google around! I found some helpful tuts that way when I was starting out.

Tumblr digital painting brushes how to#

There’s a lot going into this about how to use value, how to shade, how to use color, etc. We’re essentially sketching with color. Because ultimately what we want is for the color to take on the form and shapes conveyed by the sketch. I’m also not meticulous about my placement of the color. I’m not being meticulous about the sketch itself, because again it’s just meant to guide my placement of color. I make the opacity of the sketch layer something like 30%, and then throw down my base colors on a new layer underneath. My painting process starts with a sketch (here a boring portrait for demonstrative purposes). So let me go through how I approach a given painting: Like, I love my lines, I love my sketches-but in painting, they are guides for form, and are not the form itself. You’ll have to let go of some of your habits and conventions. Painting requires a different process than the above. There’d be gaps, I wouldn’t know how to incorporate the subject into a background, the contrast wouldn’t be high enough, or it’d just in general look too much like a screenshot from Super Mario 64. Even if I was meticulous and careful about placing down the color such that without the lines layer turned on, the shapes fit together, it didn’t look quite right. Without lines, the form of the subject vanished or became a mess like the above. When I was first teaching myself to paint digitally, I didn’t really know how to deal with this. Idk about you but I’m laughing at how stupid this looks The next intuitive step is to try going “lineless”…but when you remove the lines you get this: You know, cell-shaded, or maybe the shading’s blended, but you’ve still obviously a line drawing with color put down on layers beneath the lines. I’m gonna assume you know the basics of digital art: you can sketch, line those sketches using layers and opacity changes, and fill the lines with color, maybe even opting to add some shading…and you’ll get something like this: So if you’ve ever done real painting, you already kinda know what’s coming. The main idea here is that digital painting is just like real painting. What I’m gonna do is try to make digital painting as approachable as possible for someone who’s never really done it. This becomes easier to do once you’ve started doing item 1 above. You can learn a lot just by observing and mentally recreating the process stroke by stroke-muscle memory is a powerful tool at your disposal. Study other people’s art and try to think how they could have possibly achieved the effects they did. They can help guide the form and there’s no need to make something fully “lineless”! I never make things “lineless.”ģ. It’s perfectly okay to use your sketches, linearts, and other forms of line in your paintings. The end goal is to know exactly what to do to your brush’s settings to achieve a given effect.Ģ. Refer to this as much as possible until it is intuitive. Make a cheatsheet that shows you exactly what each button and scale does, both in isolation and in conjunction with other buttons and scales. Learn your program and its tools, from brush properties to layer styles. Because it’s hard! What I hope to accomplish here is to make painting more approachable for you.įirstly, I have put together something like this before, so for archival purposes here it is: įor those of you who don’t wanna bother reading that, here are the main points:ġ. Heyo! I got asked if I could make a tutorial on digital painting so I’m gonna throw together some advice meant for people who are starting out and want to figure out exactly how this stuff all works.










Tumblr digital painting brushes